Fighting Off The Fatigue

I apologize in advance for this post.

I struggle with self-doubt. It’s pretty bad sometimes. It has recently flared back up and it is interfering with my ability to complete ‘Demons in Space’. There are times when I stare at the ‘delete’ button and consider trashing everything. I haven’t yet, which is more than I can say for some of my attempts at writing.

I had a private deadline of being 100% feature complete by the time I went to North Texas RPG Con at the beginning of June. Unfortunately, I do not think I will make that deadline.

But the point of this post is not for me to whine about my issues.

The point is to encourage you to create. I think with groups like the Superversive sci-fi people, the Pulp Revolution, and the OSR communtiy, there is some potential for more incredible creativity over the next few years. Already these groups are pumping out interesting and amazing things that you should check out! If you decide to look into what those groups are doing and never come back to this blog ever again, I would consider that a net win.

I would like to think that even if ‘Demons in Space’ is a bigger pile of feces than a Taco Bell blow-out, at least something was made. There is something new in the world. Maybe someone will find some enjoyment in it; maybe someone will be inspired to create something even better.

So whatever it is…do it. Just do it. This video is cheesy, but accurate.

Write that story. Draw that map. Create the campaign. Paint the picture. Draw that doodle. Sing that song.

There is real darkness in the world. From the formless nothing, pull out something beautiful. Don’t let doubt cripple you. There is a place for criticism and editing, but never let those stop you…let them improve you.

4 thoughts on “Fighting Off The Fatigue

Leave a Reply

