NTRPG Con Reflection

I am back from the North Texas RPG Convention and it was great!

I have never been to an RPG convention before, nor played a tabletop game with complete strangers before. I was a little nervous, but everyone I met was friendly. If all conventions were like this one, I would encourage you to go and check out your local con!

I tried not to spend toooooo much money.

Here are a few highlights:

– Playing Swords & Wizardry Light. It is a FAN-DAMN-TASTIC little game, if you need a serious rules-light tabletop roleplaying experience. My character died, right after saving another character’s life. I was a cleric with 1 hp for most of the game. I had one Cure Light Wounds spell, but I saved it, in case another character needed it, because that is what heroic adventuring clerics do, dagnabbit! After dying, my body was looted by the party and nearly set on fire. I wish I was kidding.

– Playing Index Card D&D with Cirsova! If you need a cooperative, rules-light party game. THIS IS IT. This is the Apples to Apples or Cards Against Humanity of RPGs. What other game has mummified paladins, hardboiled detective corgis, and yoga instructors?

– A great introduction to OGRE. I co-won the first game and lost the second game quite badly. Hex 2001 with some of the terrain changes was a rough starting position for a GEV-heavy scenario. Cursed forests.

– Seeing the 3d printed 1st level of Rappan Athuk. Apparently, some people were actually adventuring in it.

Big Bag and Dice Bag

Anyway, if I can go next year, you better believe I will be there. Heck, I might even run a game!

Leave a Reply

